Jess Slentz, Assistant Professor at Ithaca College

Standard

Congratulations to Dean’s Fellow Jessica Slentz, who has accepted a tenure-track position as Assistant Professor of Professional Writing in the Department of Writing at Ithaca College in Ithaca, NY. The position begins in Fall 2017.  Dr. Slentz, who successfully defended her dissertation – “Yes, You May Touch the Art: New Media Interface and Rhetorical Experience in the Digitally Interactive Museum” – last month, will have opportunities to teach a variety of courses in writing and rhetoric, as well as work on service learning and civic engagement initiatives.

“I always knew I wanted to teach at a small liberal arts college,” Slentz says. “During my visit at IC, I was so excited by the department’s dedication to their students, by their dynamic approach to writing, and by the sense of community that underlies their work. This position is really exactly what I dreamed for when I started this journey, and I am so honored and excited to be joining the Ithaca College community and the Department of Writing in the fall.”

