Ray Horton, Assistant Professor at Murray State University

Standard

12248233_10153580860950971_4767178336502532497_oCongratulations to Ph.D. Dean’s Fellow Ray Horton, who has accepted a tenure-track position as Assistant Professor of English at Murray State University in Murray, Kentucky. The position begins in Fall 2017. Horton (whose dissertation is titled “American Literature’s Secular Faith”) will have opportunities to teach courses in his field, 20th Century American Literature, and across the English and Humanities curriculum.

“The position strikes the exact balance between teaching and research that I’ve been hoping for since the day I started on my Ph.D. This department is dedicated to its students and highly supportive of faculty scholarship,” Horton says. “I feel incredibly fortunate, and I am so grateful to everyone who has stood by me and helped me to reach this moment. I get to spend my career reading books, talking about them with students, and writing about them for very smart colleagues.”

