Ray Horton: 2013 Neil Macintyre Prize


The winner of the 2013 Neil Macintyre Memorial Prize is Ray Horton!

Congratulations go to Horton, a first-year Ph.D. student, for his essay “‘Rituals of the Ordinary’: Marilynne Robinson’s Aesthetics of Belief and Finitude.”

Congratulations also to the three honorable mentions:
– Jason Carney, “The Age of ‘Modernist Reflection’: Weird Discourses and the Occult Truth of History”
– Miriam Goldman, “Narration in Marilynne Robinson’s Housekeeping
– Marcus Mitchell, “‘Curious Eyes’ and Visual Methodologies in Lady Rose’s Daughter and Harper’s Monthly Magazine

Please join the entire Department on Friday, December 6, 2013 in Clark 206, at 4:00 p.m. for a reception and 4:30 p.m. for a presentation and celebration of the winning essay!